trip.lt
MAP
Search
Log in
Samogita
Samogita
2
Photo
© Eglė Švedaitė
2
0 reviews
The Samogitians were first mentioned in 1219 in the Hypatian Codex, describing the peace treaty between the Grand Dukes of Galicia-Volhynia and Lithuania, mentioning two Samogitian dukes, Erdvilas (Gerdvilas) and Vykintas. The term "Samogitia" was not widely used until the beginning of the 20th century; this region was referred to as Samogitia. Vytautas the Great explained the term Samogitia as the land geographically lower than Aukštaitija. Some linguists derive the name Samogitia from the word "žemė" (land). From the 15th century, Latin and German written sources called Samogitian land Samogitia (Samogitiae).

The current capital of Samogitia is Telšiai. Historical centers of Samogitian land include Medininkai (now Varniai), Kražiai, and Raseiniai.

The legendary parts of Samogitia, such as Hilly Samogitia, Old Samogitia, Pakuršė, and Paprūsė, distinctly differ in their nature and landscape features. The most picturesque areas include Hilly Samogitia rising between Telšiai and Šilalė, with lakes like Germantas, Lūkstas, and Biržulis nestled in the hills. In this region, higher hills like Šatrija, Medvėgalis, Girgždūtė, and Padievaitis were anciently considered sacred hills or hillforts. The ancient forests of the region are reminiscent of old times, especially in Baubliai, carefully preserved by Dionizas Poška, where huge oak trunks are scattered around.

Old Samogitia (a lower elevation area between Šiauliai and Raseiniai) is crossed by the impressive Dubysa Valley. In the north of Samogitia (Pakuršė), the land descends towards the fertile plains between Gruzdžiai and Skuodas, winding towards Latvia through Venta. In the lowlands near Viekšniai lies the vast Kamanai Marsh. The surroundings of Mosėdis are famous for boulders scattered during the Ice Age, with the most significant being the Barstyčiai Stone, the largest in Lithuania. Stones collected in the estates of V. Intas and V. Orvidas also captivate. In the west, Pakuršė descends towards the coast, reaching Kretinga and the Baltic Sea between Palanga and Šventoji, with the famous Birutė Hill and sand dunes. In the south, from Tauragė to Švėkšna and Gargždai, the Paprūsė River meanders from the Samogitian Upland along abundant rivers (from Mituva to the Jūra, Minija, and Akmena), flowing towards the Curonian Lagoon and the Baltic Sea.
© Etninės kultūros globos taryba
Points of interest
1743
Food
551
Accomodation
811
3068
Map
Sprūdė Mound
Mounds
Sights
Sprūdė Mound
Tauragė Castle
4.7
Castles
Tauragė Castle
Venta - Dubysa Canal
2.0
Engineering Heritage
Venta - Dubysa Canal
Venta Regional Park Visitor Center
4.0
Visitor Centers
Venta Regional Park Visitor Center
Šiauliai Cathedral of St. Apostles Peter and Paul
4.2
Catholic Churches
Šiauliai Cathedral of St. Apostles Peter and Paul
Šilpelkė Cognitive Trail
3.7
Cognitive Trails
Šilpelkė Cognitive Trail
Švėkšna Manor & Park
2.7
Manors
Švėkšna Manor & Park
Žemaitija National Park Visitors center
3.0
Visitor Centers
Žemaitija National Park Visitors center
Žemaitė Memorial Museum (Bukantė Manor)
5.0
Memorial Museums
Žemaitė Memorial Museum (Bukantė Manor)
Observation Tower of Jūra and Akmena Rivers Confluence
3.5
Observation Towers
Observation Tower of Jūra and Akmena Rivers Confluence
Akmena Cognitive Trail
Cognitive Trails
Akmena Cognitive Trail
Boulders Cognitive Trail
4.3
Cognitive Trails
Boulders Cognitive Trail
Loading...

NEARBY STAYS SAMOGITA

trip.lt
Explore Lithuania & Plan Your Trip
About
©2024 trip.lt
Cookies settingsPrivacy policy
HomeMapRoutesDestinations